Restoration Hardware

Since I worked there during college, Restoration Hardware has held a special place in my heart.  Well, not really my heart, but at least it’s a place I feel connected to.  I haven’t been to a store in a while, but last time I was in I took note of how different it was– they used to draw people in with quirky items and vintage curiosities that all had place cards describing the story of how the company owner “found” them and brought them to the stores.  But more recently the store had a very slick feeling, a lot of the “quirk” was reduced and there was a greater emphasis on the high-end furniture, etc.  I didn’t see any of the signs either.  But I digress.

The point is: my mom still gets their catalogs, and I recently flipped through the Holiday2010 edition at her house.  It was totally weird and I was sold.  There’s this mad-scientist/ industrial/ steampunk vibe running through some of the rooms that I fully submit to.  I guess I’m a sucker for huge vintage maps, creepy dentist chairs, nautical signal lighting, 10-ft couches (whose house is that big?), iron-clad dressers, mining carts and terrifying asylum-style bed frames, among other things.  You should do a search for the WW2 fighter jet chairs and aviator desk… yeah, see?  You thought I made that up.

I don’t know who was responsible for these ideas– my intense research (i.e. four-second google) produced no informative results– , but they are unbalanced in the best way possible.

Leave a Reply

